Back To Top

Find a ZEISS Optician

Everything You Should Know about Your New ZEISS Precision Lenses

Popular topics

Don’t Be Blinded

Sunglasses are fashionable accessories, but more importantly they provide vital UV protection to the eyes

The rays of the sun give your mind, body and spirit the sense that you are on vacation and put a smile on your face. UV protection that does not only protect your skin, but also your eyes, guarantees that you will enjoy the sun without regrets. Not wearing sunglasses can cause damage to your cornea, lens and conjunctiva. ZEISS sunshade lenses provide reliable UV protection.

Don’t Be Blinded

Sunglasses are fashionable accessories, but more importantly they provide vital UV protection to the eyes

Actors, musicians and show business people wear them all the time – in the summer and in the winter; day and night: Sunglasses. However, they are much more than a cool accessory.  The fact is, sunglasses protect the eyes against dangerous UV rays. When you buy a pair, though, make sure you choose good quality.

 

While even the lowest priced models are CE certified these days and consequently offer adequate UV protection, the lenses in cheap models are usually pressed and not cut. Consequently, these lenses may not provide good vision. Especially if you wear sunglasses for an extended period of time, this may fatigue your eyes. Cheaper lenses are also harder to adjust and even if you wear them only for short periods of time, they may leave impressions on your skin. That just is not cool.

 

Tip: Before you buy a pair of sunglasses, see your optometrist and have him give you detailed advice on glasses with good UV protection. Test the difference between quality lenses and basic pressed lenses.

 

Why you should wear sunglasses: While your eye does adjust itself to different levels of brightness with the assistance of its pupil which contracts when strong light penetrates the eye, it can only do this up to a certain level. If your surroundings are very bright, the eye may be blinded – and may not be able to see at all, regardless of your otherwise normal vision.

 

A good pair of sunglasses will prevent this from happening. Another very important factor is that it provides excellent UV protection. Intense yet invisible ultraviolet rays or extended exposure to them can eventually lead to painful inflammation of the conjunctiva and the cornea and ultimately causes damage. There are a few warning signals that will tell you that your eyes have been exposed to too much sun: They feel fatigued, red and tense. Sometimes they will tear up. If this happens, make sure you keep them out of the sun for a few days and buy a good pair of sunglasses.

Sun and glare protection

Symbol of Quality: CE Label

How can I identify a good pair of sunglasses? Look for the CE label. It ensures that the sunglasses meet the fundamental safety requirements stipulated in the European guidelines. Unfortunately, an agency that does verify compliance with these standards has still not been assigned. However, an optometrist can check your glasses with a special measuring tool.

Other parameters to look for when buying sunglasses:

  • UV protection: The most important criterion for good sunglasses.
  • Colour of the lenses: While it has no impact on the level of UV protection, it does have an effect on the protection against blinding. Brown, grey and green lenses distort the natural colours the least. You will still view things in their original colours. All other colours require the eye to make adjustments. Make sure that you choose a colour for use in cars if you are planning to wear the sunglasses while you are driving (signal recognition, DIN EN ISO 14889). All ZEISS lenses in standard colours meet this standard. Tip: Shaded lenses with absorption rates of 25 % and higher are generally not suitable for night time driving.
  • Lens quality: Just like every other decent pair of glasses, sunglasses should have cut lenses. Plastic and glass are both suitable materials. High end lenses in Category 1 do not have any streaks, bubbles or enclosures in them, which could give you headaches or fatigue your eyes. When slightly pressed against with a finger, the lenses should not move. Perform a test: An object you look at through sunglasses should not be distorted if the glasses are moved back and forth. 
  • Photochromic glasses: If you have a tough time deciding whether to buy dark or lighter glasses, choose photochromic lenses. Anyone who can't decide between clear or dark should choose self-tinting lenses. Like magic, the lens darkens in bright light and clears in the dark in seconds. For eyes that are sensitive to light, we recommend buying self-tinting lenses. If your eyes are light sensitive, we recommend you purchase PhotoFusion lenses.
  • Anti-reflective lenses: Many people forego this option thinking it is redundant. However, the reflections of coloured lenses are much more annoying – the person wearing the glasses and the person looking at him or her - than those of glasses that are not shaded.

Our Tip: Contrast Boosting Sunglasses

Carl Zeiss Vision also offers a range of sunglasses that have been treated with premium quality immersion dyes. They have been developed for specific applications that call for increased UV and blinding protection on the one hand and that meet certain contrast requirements on the other hand. Sport disciplines such as paragliding, skiing, motorcycle or bicycle riding frequently occur under extreme light conditions. Contrast rich vision is of particular importance – especially for safety reasons.

Animation: Contrast boosting sunglasses. Test the difference: With and without contrast boosting sunglasses (Click on the image)

Get Adobe Flash player

Special Filter Lenses for Patients with Retina Problems

Patients with retina problems need special sunglasses. ZEISS special filter lenses provide ideal solutions. They absorb parts of the visible spectrum completely. Receptors that are sensitive to this range are intentionally underexposed to protect the eye. These glasses are particularly helpful for patients suffering from retinitis pigmentosa, i.e. diabetic retinopathy. Carl Zeiss offers a series of so-called filter clips.

 

Image: © Darren Baker - Fotolia.com

Related articles

Wearing Glasses in the Summer
Blue Light: the Good and the Bad
Self-tinting spectacle lenses: comfortable and relaxed vision for everyone
What are the benefits of an extra pair of spectacles?
Simplicity and elegance: LINDBERG spectacle frames and ZEISS sunglass lenses - a summer hit
 

We use cookies on this site. Cookies are small text files that are stored on your computer by websites. Cookies are widely used and help to optimize the pages that you view. By using this site, you agree to their use. more

OK

Back To Top

搜索区域内的蔡司轻松视觉中心

类别

別讓自己盲目

太陽眼鏡不僅是時尚的飾品,更重要的是,它們對眼睛提供了不可或缺的紫外線防護。

陽光讓您的身心與精神感覺有如在度假一般,使您臉上泛起笑容。紫外線防護不僅能保護您的皮膚,還可以保護您的眼睛,讓您在享受陽光之餘無後顧之憂。若不配戴太陽眼鏡,可能會對您的角膜、水晶體和結膜造成損害。蔡司公司的sunshade鏡片能提供可靠的紫外線防護。 

太陽眼鏡不僅是時尚的飾品,更重要的是,它們對眼睛提供了不可或缺的紫外線防護。

太陽眼鏡不僅是時尚的飾品,更重要的是,它們對眼睛提供了不可或缺的紫外線防護。

演員、音樂家、和演藝人員總是配戴著它們—在夏天和冬天;白天和夜晚:太陽眼鏡。但是,它們不僅只是一件酷炫的飾品。事實上,太陽眼鏡能保護眼睛不受紫外線傷害。若您想購買一副,請確定選擇好的品質。
即使當今最低價的款式也有CE認證,因此可提供足夠的紫外線防護,這些廉價款式的鏡片通常都是以壓製方式生產,而非切割方式。因此,這些鏡片可能無法提供良好的視覺體驗。尤其是如果您長時間配戴太陽眼鏡,可能會讓您的眼睛感到疲倦。廉價的鏡片的調整也比較困難,甚至即使您只短時間配戴,也可能在您的皮膚上留下印痕。那樣就沒那麼酷了。
建議:在您購買一副太陽眼鏡之前,請造訪您的驗光師並讓其提供關於優良抗紫外線眼鏡的詳細建議。測試優質鏡片和基本壓製鏡片之間的差異。
為什麼您應該配戴太陽眼鏡:您的眼睛能根據不同的亮度,藉由其瞳孔進行自我調整,當強光透過眼睛時進行收縮,但也只能做到某個程度。如果您的周圍環境非常明亮,眼睛可能會失去視力—並可能會完全看不見,不管您在其他時候的視力正常與否。
一副優良的太陽眼鏡可防止這情況發生。另一個非常重要的因素是,它能提供出色的紫外線防護。強烈而看不見的紫外光線或長期曝露於其下可能導致眼結膜和角膜疼痛發炎,並最終導致傷害。當您的眼睛過度曝露於陽光下時,一些警訊會提醒您:它們感覺疲倦、泛紅和緊繃。有時它們會泛淚。如果發生這情況,請確定不讓眼睛接觸日光數天,並購買一副優良的太陽眼鏡。

日光和眩光防護

品質標誌:CE標籤

我如何能識別一副好的太陽眼鏡?尋找CE標籤。它能確保此副太陽眼鏡符合歐洲聯盟指令規定的基本安全要求。令人遺憾的是,至今仍尚未指派負責驗證是否合規這些標準的機構。但是,驗光師可使用特殊測量工具檢查您的眼鏡。

購買太陽眼鏡時須注意的其他因素:

  • 紫外線防護:一副優良太陽眼鏡最重要的條件。
  • 鏡片顏色:雖然對紫外線防護程度並無影響,但具有防止目眩的效果。棕色、灰色和綠色鏡片對於自然色彩的失真效應最低。您仍然能以原來的色彩觀看事物。所有其他的顏色需要眼睛進行調整。如果您計畫在行駛時配戴太陽眼鏡,請確定選擇一個適合使用於車內的顏色(標誌辨識,DIN EN ISO 14889標準)。所有標準顏色的蔡司鏡片都符合此一標準。建議:吸光率為25%或更高的深色鏡片通常不適合在夜間駕駛時使用。
  • 鏡片品質:有如其他每一副優質眼鏡,太陽眼鏡也應採用切割式鏡片。塑膠和玻璃都是合適的材料。類別1的高階鏡片內不含任何可能造成您頭痛或眼睛疲勞的條紋、氣泡和附件。當以手指輕壓時,鏡片應保持不動。進行一個測試:前後移動您的太陽眼鏡,透過太陽眼鏡看一個物體時不應產生變形。
  • 變色眼鏡:如果您對於應該選擇暗色或較亮的眼鏡而感到猶豫,那麼可以選擇變色鏡片。有如魔術一樣,這鏡片在短短幾秒內可在明亮的環境變暗,並在黑暗的環境變為清澈。如果您的眼睛對亮光敏感,我們推薦您選購全視線鏡片。
  • 抗反射鏡片:很多人放棄這個選項並認為它是多餘的。但是,對於配戴者和旁觀者來說,有色鏡片的反射比一般無色眼鏡更為惱人。

 

我們的建議:高對比度太陽眼鏡
蔡司視力保健還提供了一系列經過優質染劑浸泡處理的太陽眼鏡。它們除了可以提供加強的紫外線和眩光防護以外,也可滿足特定的對比度要求。有些運動項目如滑翔傘、滑雪、摩托車或自行車,經常處於極端的光線條件。對比豐富的視覺非常重要—尤其是出於安全因素。
 

Animation: Contrast boosting sunglasses. Test the difference: With and without contrast boosting sunglasses (Click on the image)

Get Adobe Flash player

視網膜病患使用的特殊過濾鏡片

視網膜患者需要特殊的太陽眼鏡。蔡司特殊過濾鏡片提供了理想的解決方案。它們能完全吸收可見光譜中的一部分。刻意造成對此光譜範圍敏感的感受器曝光降低,以保護眼睛。這些鏡片特別對患有視網膜色素變性疾病,如糖尿病性視網膜病變的患者都非常有幫助。蔡司公司提供一系列稱為filter clips的鏡片。

 

Image: © Darren Baker - Fotolia.com

相關文章

夏天—太陽眼鏡的季節
Perfect vision for all winter sports fans
自動變色眼鏡鏡片:舒適而輕鬆的視覺體驗
多一副眼鏡有哪些好處?
簡約不失雅致:LINDBERG鏡架搭配蔡司太陽鏡片——亮麗一夏!
 

我们在这个网站上使用 Cookies。 Cookies 是网站在您的电脑上存储的小段文字文件。目前流行使用 Cookies,用于帮助最佳化显示网页和改善。通过使用我们的网页,您表示同意接受。

OK