Back To Top

Find a ZEISS Optician

Everything You Should Know about Your New ZEISS Precision Lenses

Popular topics

Only your glasses can do that!

Contact lenses are a very good alternative to glasses – yet there are still a few vision solutions that are only possible with good ol' glasses.

Spectacle lenses and contact lenses are able to do more and more. By constantly becoming more precise and individualised, both of these vision solutions can now compensate even more effectively for visual impairments. It's almost as natural as not wearing any glasses at all: whether for myopia (short-sightedness), hyperopia (long-sightedness) or presbyopia (gradual loss of ability to focus on near objects with increasing age). It's normally a matter of taste or habit if a person decides to wear glasses or contact lenses. Did you know that there are actually a few visual impairments which only glasses can optimally correct? 

Tips for better wearing comfort of progressive lenses

Presbyopia: progressive lenses vs. multifocal lenses

Progressive lenses and multifocal contact lenses are optical marvels because both correct two visual defects with a single lens: near and distance vision.

Progressive lenses can do this thanks to their design. The eye looks through the corresponding viewing range and is corrected accordingly. The more precisely the viewing range is tailored to the wearer and the frames, the more natural their vision becomes.

Multifocal contact lenses work in a totally different way. They sit directly on your eye and move with the eye. In general you can say that there are three methods which turn contact lenses into multifocal contact lenses with different powers for near and distance vision.

  1. The monovision method is an older, but nevertheless, simple solution to the problem: a contact lens for near vision goes in one eye, and a contact lens for distance vision goes in the other. Habit and the brain do the rest. It's important to note that this "monovision" impairs 3D vision. If there's too great a difference between the right and left eye, then this solution no longer works. And when it comes to getting your driving license, optimum correction of your visual performance is, of course, really important.
  2. Alternating systems go one step further. This method only works with hard contact lenses, which are currently undergoing a renaissance. The lens is made heavier on the bottom so that it does not rotate on the eye. The power for near vision is incorporated into the lower part of the lens. The power for distance vision is integrated into the upper part. An optimum fit is important so that the lens sits comfortably on the eye.
  3. The simultaneous system is the best in its class and integrates the utmost in optical finesse with help from lenses which unite the individual powers for near and distance vision in a single lens. Different designs are used. The two distances for near and far are arranged in circular rings on the lens. There are designs where the distance range is in the middle and the near zone is outside. These designs are the most common. There are lenses with a ring for the transitional zone in between or with powers that alternate ring by ring.
    Both powers are perceived at the same time. Our brain gets used to seeing the "right" image up close and far away.


Personal fitting by a qualified optician is also an absolute must for multifocal contact lenses as a part of a thorough consultation. Multifocal lenses must be adjusted to fit the pupil size exactly.

Nevertheless, when it comes to presbyopia, progressive lenses are sometimes the better choice. Multifocal contact lenses don't work for everyone, because not everyone's brain can easily "switch" between near and far without effort. In general, people who already wear contact lenses have an easier time with multifocal contact lenses. Older people and those with substantial differences in prescription power will feel better with glasses. People who opt for multifocal contact lenses need more time and patience at the beginning than those who choose progressive lenses.

And the lens designs for progressive lenses are more flexible and easier to use. Special solutions that work with glasses only partially work with multifocal lenses, e.g. solutions for people working at a computer, special vision support in the near range like Digital Lenses or optimised designs for safer driving such as with DriveSafe.

See better at night: greater contrast and less glare

Many people realise that their contact lenses are not providing them with optimum vision at night. Spectacle lenses can be optimised for night vision, e.g. with i.Scription technology. Contrast can also be improved. Irritating glare from wearing glasses can be reduced with special coatings or, for sunglasses, with polarising filters.  

The optimal solution for associated heterophoria? Glasses!

Associated heterophoria: it affects a lot of people and often goes uncorrected. It is a condition where the visual axes of the two eyes are not parallel. This is not visible to an onlooker. Associated heterophoria limits spatial vision, and the eye muscles and the brain have to continually work to avoid double images. If undiagnosed, it can be very trying for the person affected. Quite often associated heterophoria results in repeated headaches and muscle tension. Prisms, which can be incorporated into the lenses, are one remedy. They optimise the interaction of the two eyes. After becoming accustomed to the lenses, stress-free and unimpaired vision is once again possible. Contact lenses can't do this because they move with the eye. The prisms in the lens must be precisely centred so that they provide optimum support when you look straight ahead. 

Astigmatism: glasses or contact lenses?

With an astigmatism, your vision becomes blurred and things appear distorted. This is where the cylindrical powers in spectacle lenses come into play. They refract the light in different directions. The prescription contains data not only on hyperopia or myopia, but also the strength and position of the cylinder power in degrees. A particular kind of contact lens, toric lenses, can achieve this. However, if high cylinder powers are used, unstable images result with contact lenses – although they do prevent the need for thick spectacle lenses. Glasses make your vision more stable. But it's ultimately the wearer who decides which solution is right for them.

For example: for sports, contact lenses are the go-to choice because there is a lower chance of injury and fewer restrictions. Have you ever seen a professional football player with glasses? In certain cases, contact lenses are preferable in spite of the more imprecise correction. Contact lenses for sports – glasses for relaxing at home.

Pregnancy

Did you know that corneal curvature can change during pregnancy? Hormones cause the eyes to swell. The hormonal change during pregnancy can also influence the production of tears, which can lead to dry eyes. All of this not only makes wearing contact lenses quite unpleasant, but can even harm the eyes. Pregnant women who wear contact lenses and experience these symptoms should consult their eye care professional. Wearing glasses can provide relief.

 

A single pair of glasses for outdoors and indoors

Whether we wear glasses or contact lenses, we all need sunglass lenses for sun protection! Sunglass lenses not only protect our iris, but they also protect our entire eye, including the conjunctiva, from the damage and inflammation caused by UV rays. Glasses with self-tinting lenses might be the solution if you want to avoid constantly taking off and putting on your sunglasses. Special molecules applied to the lens adjust to the sunlight accordingly.  

No matter what vision solution you choose, it's important to consult your optician. Your optician will analyse exactly what your eyes need to overcome the challenges they face in everyday life. This will help you find the right vision solution – whether with glasses or with contact lenses.

 

Related articles

Your individual ZEISS lens configuration
Here's how glasses can improve your wellbeing
Varifocal Glasses with a Difference
Better vision with a new pair of glasses.
Do progressive lenses work for hunters?

Share this article with your friends

 

We use cookies on this site. Cookies are small text files that are stored on your computer by websites. Cookies are widely used and help to optimize the pages that you view. By using this site, you agree to their use. more

OK

Back To Top

搜索区域内的蔡司轻松视觉中心

类别

只有你的眼鏡能做到!

隱形眼鏡是一個很好的眼鏡替代品──然而,有些視力問題仍需要依靠一般眼鏡來解決。

一般眼鏡和隱形眼鏡能夠解決的視力問題越來越多。隨著不斷提升的精準度及個人化,現在這兩種視力解決方案能夠更有效解決視力障礙問題。彷彿沒有戴眼鏡那樣自然:無論是用於近視、遠視或老花(年齡漸長時逐漸失去對近處物件聚焦的能力)。選擇一般眼鏡還是隱形眼鏡其實只是根據個人的品味和習慣。但是,您可知道有些視力障礙只能依靠一般眼鏡來解決嗎? 

Tips for better wearing comfort of progressive lenses

老花眼:漸進鏡片跟多焦隱形眼鏡比較

漸進鏡片和多焦隱形眼鏡是光學上的奇蹟,因為兩者都以單一鏡片來矯正視力缺陷:遠距和近距視力。

由於光學設計,漸進鏡片辦得到這點。眼睛通過適當的鏡片範圍觀看,從而令視力受到適當的矯正。鏡片範圍越是精確配合配戴者和鏡架,則視覺越自然。

多焦隱形眼鏡的作用完全不同。它們直接貼在你的眼睛上,跟著你的眼球移動。一般而言,可以說有三種方法使得隱形眼鏡變成遠近距離視力的不同度數多焦隱形眼鏡。
 

  1. 單眼視覺是最原始的方法,但還是個簡單的解決方法:一隻眼睛戴上一個近距離用的鏡片,一隻眼睛戴上一個遠距離用的鏡片。其它的就讓大腦自行調整。我們注意到,單眼視覺會對三維視覺造成障礙。如果左右眼之間的度數差異太大,這個解決辦法就無法發揮作用。而考駕駛執照時,最佳視力矯正,當然是非常重要。
  2. 交替系統稍微向前一步。這個方法只在於配戴硬性隱形眼鏡時發揮效用,這種眼鏡目前又開始流行起來。鏡片的底部做得厚重一些,讓它不會在眼球上旋轉。近距離視力的度數分佈在鏡片下部。遠距離視力的度數則內建在上部。配適時,重要的是讓鏡片舒適地落在眼睛上。
  3. 同時系統是這類產品中的最頂級設計,它配合鏡片最細緻的光學性能,將個人的遠近距離視力度數整合到一個鏡片上。漸進隱形眼鏡有不同的設計,將近距和遠距焦度分別設計在鏡片的中央及環形部分。有的設計是把遠距範圍放到鏡片中央,近距範圍則放到鏡片外部,這種設計最為常見。有的鏡片以同心圓設計,將不同度數一環一環交替地置入,
    令配戴者能同時感覺到兩個度數,而我們的大腦會自行適應,習慣了就會自然選擇看到近處和遠處的「正確」影像。


完整的諮詢過程必須包括要讓合資格的視光師配製多焦隱形眼鏡。多焦隱形眼鏡必須調整到則好符合瞳孔的大小。

雖然如此,對於老花眼而言,漸進鏡片還是最佳的選擇。多焦隱形眼鏡並非對每個人都有功效,因為並非每個人的大腦都能毫不費力而輕易地「切換」於近距和遠距視覺能力之間。一般而言,已經配戴隱形眼鏡的人會比較容易適應多焦隱形眼鏡。年紀大的人和雙眼視覺有較大度數差異的人會覺得戴一般有框眼鏡有較佳的改善。選擇多焦隱形眼鏡的人比選擇漸進鏡片的人,在剛開始時需要較多時間和耐心來適應。

而漸進鏡片的鏡片設計比較靈活,使用也比較方便。對於一般眼鏡配戴者而言,在某些特殊情況,多焦隱形眼鏡只能應付部份的視力需求,始終不及一般眼鏡,例如專為在電腦桌前工作的人而設的Digital Lenses,或為安全駕駛優化設計的DriveSafe鏡片等。

夜間的優良視力:較高的對比度和較低的眩光

許多人發現他們的隱形眼鏡並不為他們提供最佳的夜間視力。可為夜間視力優化一般眼鏡鏡片,例如使用i.Scription技術,也可改善對比度。來自配戴眼鏡的眩光可利用特殊的鍍膜,或太陽眼鏡可利用偏光濾鏡降低惱人的眩光。

關連性隱性斜視的最佳解決辦法?一般眼鏡!

關連性隱性斜視:這個問題影響到許多人,但是常常都沒有受到矯正。這是雙眼視覺角度不平衡的狀況。外人看不出這個問題。關連性隱性斜視限制了空間視覺,因此眼睛肌肉和大腦必須不斷努力避免看到重複的影像。如果沒有診斷出來,受到影響的人會感到非常吃力。關連性隱性斜視往往會導致經常性的頭疼和肌肉繃緊。矯正的方法就是將稜鏡整合到鏡片內。這種鏡片可優化雙眼的互動,一旦習慣了這些鏡片,即可重新獲得輕鬆而沒有障礙的視覺能力。隱形眼鏡無法做到這點,因為它們會跟著眼球移動。鏡片裏的稜鏡必須精確地定位,以便在你通過鏡片直視時獲得最佳的支持。

散光眼:一般眼鏡還是隱形眼鏡?

散光眼使你的視力模糊,看東西扭曲失真。一般眼鏡的散光度在這裡可以發揮功效。這類鏡片能將光線折射往不同方向,鏡片的處方不只包含遠視和近視的數據,也包含散光度的強度和軸向。有一種特定的隱形眼鏡──散光鏡片──可以做到這一點。但如果使用高度數的散光度,隱形眼鏡會導致不穩定的影像──雖然隱形眼鏡可避免一般厚重的眼鏡。一般眼鏡可使你的視力更為穩定,但最終決定哪種解決辦法比較合適的還是配戴者本身。

例如:做運動時,隱形眼鏡是個顯然較佳的選擇,因為受傷的可能性較低,而且受到的限制較少。你見過一個職業足球員戴一般眼鏡嗎?某些情況下,雖然隱形眼鏡的視力矯正比較不精確,但還是比較受歡迎。運動時使用隱形眼鏡,在家放鬆時可配戴一般眼鏡。

懷孕

你知道懷孕期間角膜曲率會有所改變嗎?荷爾蒙造成眼睛腫脹。懷孕期間荷爾蒙改變,也會影響到淚水的產生,這有可能導致乾眼症。這些情況不僅會使得配戴隱形眼鏡相當不適,而且也會傷害眼睛。懷孕婦女假如因配戴隱形眼鏡而經歷到這些症狀,應該向她們的專業眼睛保健員諮詢解決方法。配戴一般眼鏡可舒緩眼睛壓力。

 

一副可用於室內和室外的眼鏡

無論我們配戴的是一般眼鏡還是隱形眼鏡,我們都需要太陽眼鏡片作為日光防護。太陽眼鏡片不僅保護我們的虹膜,也保護我們的整個眼睛,包括結膜,免於受到紫外線所導致的傷害和炎症。如果不想不斷地戴除太陽眼鏡,採用自動變色鏡片的眼鏡是一個好辦法。鏡片上的特殊分子會隨著陽光自行調整。

無論選擇任何的視力解決方法,最重要的是你必須諮詢你的視光師。你的視光師將分析你的眼睛需求,以便克服你的眼睛每天遇到的挑戰。這有助你找到正確的視力解決方法──無論配戴的是一般眼鏡或隱形眼鏡。

 

 


相關文章

蔡司個性化鏡片配鏡過程
眼鏡如何改善配戴者的健康
不一樣的漸進眼鏡
Perfect vision for all winter sports fans
配副新眼鏡以確保優質視力
 

我们在这个网站上使用 Cookies。 Cookies 是网站在您的电脑上存储的小段文字文件。目前流行使用 Cookies,用于帮助最佳化显示网页和改善。通过使用我们的网页,您表示同意接受。

OK