Back To Top

Find a ZEISS Optician

Everything You Should Know about Your New ZEISS Precision Lenses

Popular topics

Spectacles, contact lenses or laser surgery – what's right for you?

Around half the population has a vision problem. However, this is now easy to correct since there is a suitable solution for virtually all vision problems.

The eye is our most important sensory organ. Even today, medicine has not found a way to prevent the natural deterioration of vision. But spectacles, contact lenses or surgery make it possible for almost everyone to see sharply. Everything about the advantages and disadvantages of spectacles, laser and contact lenses.

It's possible thanks to medical and technical advances. Today, an optician or ophthalmologist can help almost everyone with a vision problem. Spectacles, contact lenses and laser surgery are all ways to achieve sharper vision. Each of these options to correct vision weaknesses has its advantages and disadvantages. Here's some information that will help you decide which is best for you:

Spectacles – the classic for every occasion and in use since the 13th century

Spectacles are the most common and effective way to correct a vision problem. Modern, individually customised spectacles are now available for virtually every occasion and every vision need.

Advantages:

They are easy to wear, and modern frames and spectacle lenses make them very comfortable. The high-refraction plastic lenses used today also considerably reduce the weight of strong spectacle lenses. Modern progressive lenses allow wearers to see precisely at all distances. Anti-reflective spectacle lenses prevent annoying light reflections, while self-tinting (also known as photochromic) spectacle lenses darken when exposed to ultraviolet light. Spectacles also help protect your eyes against dirt, dust and insects. There are ideal spectacles for every occasion including work spectacles for those who spend a lot of time on computers or tablet PCs, i.e. those who want comfortable and sharp vision primarily in the near and mid-range distances, which can be customised as needed. The same is true for active applications, such as sport and leisure activities. Special design and production technology now make it possible to produce lenses in your own prescription to fit highly-curved spectacle frames. Special, innovative coatings make even plastic lenses, which used to be rather delicate, into durable precision vision aids.

Disadvantages:

Spectacle lenses with strong dioptre values can be uncomfortably thick and heavy. They can fog up when you move from the cold outside into the warmth inside. Sometimes spectacles can be unwieldy, for instance when lying on your side, while watching TV or reading. Moreover, the geometry of some spectacle lenses results in areas that appear blurry, which may be more or less pronounced depending on the quality.

Contact lenses – whether disposable or custom-produced

The small and practically invisible plastic lenses are the first alternative to spectacles. Modern, and custom-produced contact lenses in particular, allow for precise correction of almost all types of vision problems. There are contact lenses for both short and far-sightedness. The technology is now so advanced that contact lenses are available for presbyopia; these function like progressive lenses on the eye, they are known as multifocal contact lenses.

Advantages:

Contact lenses result in only slight magnification or reduction of the image. Sideways vision is also sharp and is not interrupted by an edge, as can happen with some spectacles. Contact lenses don't fog up, which can be a major factor for some professions – such as sailors, chefs, actors and athletes. Also, different vision impairments in the right and left eye can easily be corrected.

Disadvantages:

A certain degree of manual dexterity is required to put in contact lenses. Wearing them too long can disrupt oxygen supply to the eye, at the time of purchase ask your optician whether the contact lenses have good oxygen permeability. People who suffer from dry eyes should use hard lenses. In general, tolerability of contact lenses varies greatly from one individual to the next, some people get used to them quickly, while others require more time. Contact lenses require more maintenance than spectacles, this is especially important since incorrect maintenance and contamination can lead to infections. With multifocal contact lenses, some people have issues switching between the far and near range, or require more time to get used to it.

Laser surgery – small procedure, big effect

The new ReLEx™ smile treatment method from Carl Zeiss Meditec revolutionises laser treatment

The new ReLEx™ smile treatment method from Carl Zeiss Meditec revolutionises laser treatment

Having laser surgery to correct a vision impairment has been an option for about 20 years. There are a range of procedures, such as Femto-LASIK, LASIK (laser in situ keratomileusis), LASEK (laser-assisted subepithelial keratectomy) and PRK (photorefractive keratectomy), as well as the minimally invasive ReLEx smile treatment method. The physician decides what method is best for each patient. Femto-LASIK is considered the most familiar and is the state-of-the-art procedure. A femtosecond laser is used to cut a thin flap from the cornea, which is then folded to the side. Then the excimer laser ablates the necessary tissue to correct the specific type of vision impairment, all within seconds. In the case of short-sightedness, the cornea is flatter, while it has a more angular shape in the case of far-sightedness. Once the procedure is complete, the flap is folded back into place. Patients can see again sharply shortly after the procedure. The most important requirement for an optimal procedure is that the physician must determine whether it is possible to perform laser surgery at all. The procedure can now be performed on an out-patient basis and usually only takes a few minutes.

The new ReLEx™ smile treatment method from Carl Zeiss Meditec revolutionises laser treatment

Of all the other methods, the new ReLEx smile treatment method from Carl Zeiss Meditec is the first method in which vision impairments can be corrected without having to peel back the corneal flap. This means that the procedure is significantly less invasive for the eye. A laser is used within the intact cornea to create a thin, lens-shaped piece of tissue called a lenticle, which is then removed from under the cornea through an aperture of less than four millimetres. This translates into 80-percent less incision area in the upper layers of the cornea than previously (in LASIK) and a shorter treatment.

Advantages:

No spectacles are required after the surgery. Modern laser correction procedures can even correct presbyopia. Laser surgery can be a good solution for people with vision problems who cannot get used to spectacles or who don't tolerate contact lenses. The dioptre range within which vision impairments can be corrected depends on the procedure used. For instance, ReLEx smile can usually correct short-sightedness of up to minus 10 dioptres. Other requirements: the eye must be fully formed (in general, patients should be over 18 years), the degree of short or far-sightedness (with or without astigmatism) should not have changed within the last two years and the cornea must also be of a certain thickness. With an experienced doctor, this is a very low-risk surgery.

Disadvantage:

Laser surgery is an invasive procedure performed on an essentially healthy organ. Potential side effects and complications include temporarily dry eyes. These symptoms can last up to twelve weeks. Even if the procedure is successful, the vision impairment may not be completely corrected and it may still be necessary to wear spectacles. Patients with autoimmune disorders should not undergo laser surgery, along with most diabetics, since that condition can cause damage to the cornea. Beware of cheap offers from abroad as they have significant shortcomings.

Implantable multifocal lenses – surgical assistance for presbyopia

A relatively new option to correct presbyopia and vision impairments is the implantable multifocal lens. While at first these products were inflexible and rigid, modern models are extremely flexible, foldable and can be implanted in the eye through a tiny incision. The procedure only takes about 10 minutes per eye and can be performed within a few days. It is also completely painless thanks to local anesthetic. During the procedure, the multifocal lens is usually placed in the capsular sac, directly behind the pupil, and held in place using a haptic anchor. A new technology has optimised the structuring of the near, mid and far-range zones, significantly increasing visual acuity in all ranges and reducing the risk of glare to a minimum.

Advantages:

The new generation of multifocal lenses is very well tolerated and does not cause pain or discomfort due to the feeling of having a foreign body in your eye. They are primarily implanted in individuals who suffer from age-related cataracts. Around 20 million people worldwide undergo cataract surgery every year. Clinical studies show that 90 percent of patients no longer require a visual aid at any time after the surgery. The operation lasts for a lifetime and it is no longer necessary to have a follow-up procedure since the refraction values generally remain stable. Patients can perform any kind of daily task and even play sports.

Disadvantages:

Patients suffering from certain pathological changes in the eye are not eligible for the procedure. If a patient has this kind of eye disorder, any potential cataract operation will be discussed with the ophthalmologist during the consultation.

Related articles

Your individual ZEISS lens configuration
Here's how glasses can improve your wellbeing
Varifocal Glasses with a Difference
Better vision with a new pair of glasses.
Do progressive lenses work for hunters?
 

We use cookies on this site. Cookies are small text files that are stored on your computer by websites. Cookies are widely used and help to optimize the pages that you view. By using this site, you agree to their use. more

OK

Back To Top

搜索区域内的蔡司轻松视觉中心

类别

眼鏡、隱形眼鏡還是鐳射手術—哪樣適合您?

將進一半的人口有視力問題。但是,現在矯正視力變得容易,因為幾乎所有的視力問題都能找到適合的解決方案。

 

 

眼鏡是我們最重要的感知器官。即使到今日,醫師還沒有找到阻止視力自然弱化的方法。但是眼鏡、隱形眼鏡或者手術使得每個人擁有清晰的視力成為可能。以下是眼鏡、鐳射手術和隱形眼鏡的所有利弊資訊。

 

歸功於醫療技術的進步,今天的驗的師或眼科醫師可以幫助幾乎所有存在視力問題的人。眼鏡、隱形眼鏡和鐳射手術都可以實現更清晰的視覺。每個矯正視力弱化的方法中都有其優點和缺點。以下資訊將幫助消費者決定選擇適合自己的方法:

眼鏡—始於13世紀,適用於每一種場合的經典

眼鏡是矯正視力問題最常用的有效方法。現代、單獨定制的眼鏡幾乎適用於每一種場合和每種視力需要。

優點:

容易配戴,現代的鏡架和鏡片令配戴眼鏡非常舒適。現今使用的高折射率塑膠鏡片亦大大降低堅固的眼鏡鏡片的重量。現代的漸進鏡片容許配戴者無論遠近均能看得清楚。防反射鏡片防止惱人的的反射;當暴露於紫外線時,自動變色(也稱為光致變色)眼鏡鏡片會變暗。眼鏡也能保護您的眼睛免受污垢、灰塵和昆蟲的侵擾。每種場合都有相應適用的眼鏡,包括需長時間坐在電腦或平板電腦前的工作眼鏡 ,例如那些主要是想在近距離擁有舒適清晰視力的人,可按需訂製。對於眼鏡滿足活動的要求也同樣適用,例如體育和休閒活動。特殊的設計和生產技術使人們可以根據自己的臉型來配合高度彎曲的眼鏡架製作鏡片。特別的、創新的鍍膜技術使以前相當容易損壞的塑膠鏡片變為耐用而精確的視力輔助工具。  

缺點:

具有較強屈光度的鏡片會因為重量和厚度令人感到不適。當您從寒冷的是外進入溫暖的室內時,鏡片會起霧。有時,眼鏡會變得不方便,例如躺著看電視或閱讀時。此外,某些鏡片的形狀會造成鏡片某些區域髒汙,髒污的程度多多少少表示著鏡片的品質。

隱形眼鏡—拋棄式或訂製品

這種細小,幾乎看不見的塑膠鏡片是取代眼鏡的第一選擇。特別是現代、定制生產的隱形眼鏡,幾乎可以精確矯正所有類型的視覺問題。有適合近視和遠視的隱形眼鏡。現今的技術如此先進,有適合老花眼使用的隱形眼鏡;譬如漸進式的隱形鏡片,一般稱為多焦點隱形眼鏡。

優點:

隱形眼鏡僅對圖像作輕微的放大或減小。側面的視覺並不會像配戴某些眼鏡那樣被眼鏡邊緣擋到。隱形眼鏡不會起霧,尤其是用某些行業,例如水手、廚師、演員和運動員。另外,配戴隱形眼鏡可以很容易地糾正左右眼不同的視力障礙。

缺點:

隱形眼鏡要求一定程度的靈巧的手工操作。配戴隱形眼鏡時間過長會破壞眼睛的氧氣供應,在購買時應詢問驗光師隱形眼鏡是否具有良好的透氧性。患有乾眼症的人應該使用硬質鏡片。一般情况下,個人對隱形眼鏡的耐受性差異很大,有些人很快適應,而有的人則需要更多的時間。隱形眼鏡比眼鏡需要更多的保養,這尤其重要,因為不正穴的保養和污染會導致感染。有些多焦點隱形眼鏡的配戴者會在轉換遠近距離時有麻煩,或需要更多的時間去適應。  

鐳射手術—小手術、大影響

蔡司的輕鬆ReLEx™微笑治療法:蔡司醫療技術革命性的鐳射治療法

蔡司的輕鬆ReLEx™微笑治療法:蔡司醫療技術革命性的鐳射治療法

鐳射手術矯正視力缺陷的方法已出現大約20年。手術方法包括Femto-LASIK、LASIK、LASEK、PRK以及微手術的輕鬆ReLEx微笑療法。醫師可為每位患者決定最好的方法。Femto-LASIK是一般認為最為人熟悉的、最先進的手術方法。飛秒鐳射手術從角膜切下薄片,摺疊到一旁。然後,還有準分子鐳射手術消融必要的組織來糾正特定類型的視力缺陷,這一切都在幾秒鐘之內完成。近視患者的角膜較平坦,遠視的人則角度更大。手術完成後,將皮瓣折回原位。手術後不久,患者可以再次擁有清晰視力。眼科手術最重要的是,醫師必須確定能否進行鐳射外科手術。這種手術現今可在門診進行,通常只花幾分鐘時間。

蔡司的輕鬆ReLEx™微笑治療法:蔡司醫療技術革命性的鐳射治療法  

相較於其它技術,  蔡司醫療技術革命性的輕鬆微笑治療法首創了無需剝離角膜瓣以糾正視力缺陷的方法。這意味著此手術方法極大地減少對眼睛的創傷。使用鐳射在完整的角膜上創建一個很薄的、透鏡狀的組織,此被稱為透鏡體,然後從下角膜通過小於四毫米的一個孔將其移走,和以前的手術方法(LASIK)相比,這種做法在角膜上層減少了80%的切口,手術時間也較短。

優點:

術後不再需要配戴眼鏡。現代的鐳射矯正手術甚至可以矯正老花眼。鐳射手術對不習慣配戴眼鏡或不能忍受隱形眼鏡的人是個良好的解決方法。根據採用的手術方法,可矯正屈光度的範圍內的視覺缺陷。例如,輕松微笑治療方法通常可以矯正屈光度達1000度的近視。其他要求:眼睛必須完全成形(在一般情況下,患者應滿18歲),在最近兩年中近視或遠視程度(無論散光與否)不應有變化,角膜也必須有一定厚度。對一個有經驗的醫師來說,這是一個非常低風險的手術。

缺點:

鐳射手術是一種在基本健康器官上進行的侵入性手術。潛在的副作用和並發症包括暫時乾眼症。這些症狀可持續十二週。就算手術成功,視覺缺陷亦可能得不到完全糾正,可能仍然需要戴眼鏡。有自身免疫性疾病的患者和大多數糖尿病患者不應接受鐳射手術,因為身體條件會導致角膜損傷。謹防國外提供的廉價手術,因為它們有明顯的缺陷。

植入式多焦點鏡片—老花眼的手術援助方法

矯正老花眼和視力缺陷的一個相對較新的方法是植入多焦點鏡片。雖然這類產品起初較死板和僵化,但是現代的型號已變得非常柔軟、可折疊,並可通過一個很小的切口植入眼內。手術過程每只眼睛僅需10分鐘,可以在幾天內完成。由於局部麻醉,手術完全無痛。在此過程中,多焦點鏡片通常放置在瞳孔正後方的囊袋裡,並以適當的觸覺錨予以固定。這項新技術已同時優化了近視、中視和遠視區域,明顯提高所有範圍内的視力敏銳度,並將眩光的風險降至最低。

優點:

新一代的多焦點鏡片耐受性很好,不會因為眼睛內的異物感而引起疼痛或不適。此技術主要針對入患有老年性白內障的人。每年全球有兩千萬人接受白內障手術。臨床研究表明,90%的患者手術後的任何時間不再需要視覺輔助。手術終身有效,且因為通常保持穩定的折射值,不必要進行術後跟蹤。患者可以進行任何日常任務甚至體育活動。

缺點:

患有某些特定的眼睛病理變化的患者不適宜進行該手術。如果病人患有此種眼病,在會診過程中應與眼科醫師討論任何潛在的白內障手術。

相關文章

蔡司個性化鏡片配鏡過程
Perfect vision for all winter sports fans
配副新眼鏡以確保優質視力
漸進鏡片能符合狩獵者的需求嗎?
只有你的眼鏡能做到!
 

我们在这个网站上使用 Cookies。 Cookies 是网站在您的电脑上存储的小段文字文件。目前流行使用 Cookies,用于帮助最佳化显示网页和改善。通过使用我们的网页,您表示同意接受。

OK