Back To Top

Find a ZEISS Optician

Everything You Should Know about Your New ZEISS Precision Lenses

Popular topics

Spectacles for pilots – perfect vision even above the clouds

Whether professional or amateur, pilots need spectacles that allow them to see clearly, even in extreme lighting and weather conditions.

Spectacles for pilots have a demanding job: more so than in almost any other application, they have to perfectly optimise the wearer's vision and compensate for extreme visibility conditions. For sailing, amateur pilots, hang-gliding, paragliding and aerospace professionals: BETTER VISION with the perfect spectacles for pilots.

Spectacles for pilots – perfect vision even above the clouds

 

Pilots require spectacles that always guarantee good vision, both at distance and close range. This is no easy task, as visibility and lighting conditions above the clouds are extreme, and can change at a moments notice. Pilots need to be able to see objects such as towers and air traffic properly, while at the same time reading details such as cockpit instruments perfectly and perceiving colours accurately in order to understand signals clearly and correctly.

Ideal spectacles for pilots: tinted lenses with ZEISS Skylet®

With Skylet® sun protection lenses, ZEISS has developed special technology for these exacting requirements that guarantees perfect vision for all altitudes and lighting conditions, for amateur and professional pilots alike. Skylet® sun protection lenses have 100% UV protection, reduce inconvenient glare and also improve contrast vision in extreme light conditions. This is not only convenient – it also contributes enormously to greater safety.

One option that is particularly suitable for pilots is the "fun" variant of the Skylet® sun protection lenses: Skylet® fun with 70% light reduction – the brightest Skylet® prescription spectacle lens with an aesthetically appealing, red-brown tint. These squeeze the highest possible colour contrast out of the lens at medium ambient brightness – ideal for hazy light conditions.

 

The three contrast-enhancing Skylet® colours:

ZEISS Skylet Fun

Fun

ZEISS Skylet Road

Road

ZEISS Skylet Sport

Sport

For those who prefer darker tints, we recommend the ZEISS Skylet "road" variant with an 80% tint in aesthetic brown – ideal for the medium-strength sunlight of a typical central European summer. However, pilots should not wear spectacles darker than this: in order to avoid excessive impairment of their ability to distinguish between colours, the German Federal Aviation Office advises against using lenses with a tint density that exceeds 85%.

Important: why pilots should avoid polarisation filters for their spectacles

Sunglasses or prescription spectacle lenses with polarisation filters are not suitable for the majority of pilots. Such filters normally provide protection against reflections, but they should always be avoided by pilots, as the special structure of many cockpit screens combined with the effect of polarising lenses can quickly impair a pilot's vision, occasionally preventing them from noticing certain signals at all. In certain weather conditions some aircraft can be difficult to visibly detect, or only recognisable by the sunlight reflecting off their outer shell. If this reflection is blocked by an additional polarisation filter in their spectacles, the pilot may not see the other aircraft at all presenting a hazardous situation... Also, depending on the position of the pilot's head, LCD displays (instruments, navigation devices etc.) may be impossible to read through such lenses, or be perceived simply as black surfaces.

Perfect for pilots: ZEISS gradient lenses

When choosing their sunglasses, pilots should always look for neutral lens tints (your ZEISS ophthalmic optician will be happy to advise you on the wide range of options). ZEISS Skylet® sun protection lenses are especially designed for applications where increased UV and glare protection and high-contrast vision are important. In this case, "high contrast" means being able to differentiate better between colours, so that a green meadow far in the distance is clearly – and unmistakably – perceived as green. This also enables pilots to "read" weather conditions better, especially cloud changes. As such, any impairment of the pilot's ability to recognise colours is largely eliminated so that all the instruments can be read perfectly and reliably – as with the ZEISS Skylet® "fun" and "road" variants.

Many tinted sunglasses or spectacles with prescription lenses, which mainly filter the blue portion of the light spectrum, impair this colour perception. This is why authorities such as the German Federal Aviation Offices clearly advise against such lenses. However, for those who still value a little colour, the new ZEISS gradient lenses offer a safe variant specifically suited for use within aircrafts. For example, the top section of the lens can be tinted dark brown and the bottom section a lighter colour that makes it easier to read the cockpit instruments. Spectacle lenses with optimum light reduction, a neutral colour pallet and 100% UV protection, match the strict lens requirements set for professional pilots by the authorities and pilots' associations.

By the way: pilots should avoid self-tinting or photochromic lenses. Self-tinting sunglasses always need a few seconds to adjust to changes in light and UV conditions.

Safety and comfortable vision with progressive lenses

Sooner or later, it catches up with most pilots who wear spectacles: they can no longer see objects in the distance and those at close range with the same sharpness. For pilots this is more than an inconvenience – it is also presents a potential hazard. Progressive lenses have been tried and tested for combatting this problem in aircraft applications. They are adapted perfectly to fit the wearer – like a tailor-made suit – and allow pilots razor-sharp vision both for distance objects (towers and air traffic) and at close range (e.g. instrument displays in the cockpit or cards). Combined with Skylet® sun protection lenses, these are the perfect spectacles for pilots.

What matters when choosing spectacle frames?

All-round coverage is important. Spectacle frames that are good for pilots include wrap-around styles with curved lenses: these are gently contoured around the face to effectively dampen distracting stray light that would otherwise get into the wearer's eyes from the side or behind. The temples should be thin and not too far away from the head, so that the pilot's headset can function properly. As a basic rule, spectacle frames for pilots should be comfortable to wear for long periods, not tight against the head. This is easy if you observe a few rules.

Tip: if you take your headset with you to the optician, they will be able to take its size into account when recommending the perfect spectacle frames. If you really want to be on the safe side, ask if you can borrow the frames to test them out. Your ZEISS ophthalmic optician will be happy to help you with this.

By the way:

many pilots round off their spectacles with a powerful lens finish such as DuraVision® Platinum from ZEISS, in order to protect them against scratches and other damage from their surroundings. More information...

 

Image: i.stockphoto.com © Stacey Newman

Related articles

Wearing Glasses in the Summer
Do progressive lenses work for hunters?
The perfect spectacles for golfers
Wrap, slim or colourful: ZEISS lenses fit the bill every time!
Self-tinting spectacle lenses: comfortable and relaxed vision for everyone

Share this article with your friends

 

We use cookies on this site. Cookies are small text files that are stored on your computer by websites. Cookies are widely used and help to optimize the pages that you view. By using this site, you agree to their use. more

OK

Back To Top

搜索区域内的蔡司轻松视觉中心

类别

飛行員專用眼鏡——雲端上的完美視力

不論是專業或業餘的飛行員,他們都需要能讓他們在強光和惡劣天候條件下都看得清晰的眼鏡。

飛行員專用眼鏡必須達成一項嚴苛任務:所要求的程度遠超過其他所有眼鏡,即飛行員專用眼鏡必須使配戴者的視力達到最佳程度,在極端視覺條件下仍能發揮適當的輔助作用。對於航海員、業餘飛行員、懸掛式滑翔翼、高空跳傘和航空飛行專業人士而言:BETTER VISION與最合適飛行員使用的眼鏡。 

飛行員專用眼鏡——雲端上的完美視力

飛行員專用的眼鏡必能須隨時確保優質視力,無論是遠距離或近距離視力範圍皆然。但這不是簡單的任務,因為雲端上的能見度和光線條件非常極端,而且瞬息萬變。飛行員必須能夠看清高塔和空中交通情形,同時要能正確閱讀駕駛艙儀表板上的各項細節、精準分辨顏色,這樣才能清晣無誤地掌握各種航空訊號。

適合飛行員的理想眼鏡:使用蔡司 Skylet®的染色鏡片

隨著Skylet®日光防護鏡片的上市,蔡司研發出特殊技術,能在所有海拔高度和光線條件下均能夠精準符合特別的視覺要求,深受業餘和專業飛行員的歡迎。Skylet®日光防護鏡片能100%抗紫外線、降低刺目眩光,同時能改善極端光線條件下的對比視覺。這不僅使用便利,也能大幅提升安全性。

Skylet®日光防護鏡片的「fun」系列是特別適合飛行員的選擇:Skylet® fun系列可阻絕70%的光線——最淺色的Skylet®處方鏡片外型美觀大方的紅褐色系。這種鏡片在中等環境亮度下可呈現最高的顏色對比度——適合在模糊的光線條件下使用。

 

 

The three contrast-enhancing Skylet® colours:

對於偏好深色系的消費者,我們建議選擇蔡司Skylet「road」系列,此為80%深色度的褐色系鏡片——適合在中歐夏天常見的中度陽光強度下使用。然而,飛行員配戴的眼鏡鏡片顏色最好不要比這更深了:這是為了避免影響飛行員分辨顏色的能力,德國聯邦航空局建議飛行員不要使用深色度超過85%的鏡片。

重要資訊:為什麼飛行員不應使用偏光眼鏡?

太陽眼鏡或含有偏光鏡的處方眼鏡並不適合大多數飛行員使用,因為這類濾鏡通常具備抗反光保護作用,但是基於許多駕駛艙螢幕的特殊結構,如果加上偏光鏡的作用,可能會迅速影響飛行員的視力,有時甚至會阻礙飛行員辨識特定訊號的能力,所以飛行員應避免使用這類鏡片。有些飛機在某種天氣條件下很難明顯識別,只能透過陽光投射在外側機體上的反光來辨識,如果眼鏡上加裝的濾鏡阻絕了反光,飛行員可能無法識別出其他飛機的位置,因而出現危險的情況...此外依據飛行員的頭部位置、LCD螢幕(儀表板、導航裝置等)而定,飛行員也可能無法透過這類鏡片清楚閱讀資訊,或只能看到一片黑色。

飛行員的最佳選擇:蔡司漸變色鏡片

選擇太陽眼鏡時,飛行員應該選擇自然色系的鏡片(您的蔡司視光師很樂意為您介紹各種鏡片產品)。蔡司Skylet®日光防護鏡片是特別針對重視紫外線和眩光防護以及高對比視覺的使用條件所設計,此處所謂的「高對比」是指良好的色彩分辨能力。高對比度能夠讓您看清楚遠處的綠色草坪,而且是絕無錯誤地確知到它的顏色是綠色。高對比度也能讓飛行員更容易「看出」天氣狀況,特別是在雲層瞬息萬變的時候。飛行員配戴蔡司 Skylet®「fun」和「road」系列,可大大降低顏色分辨能力受影響的風險,使他們可以正確地閱讀儀表板上的資訊。

許多染色的太陽眼鏡或處方鏡片眼鏡會濾除光譜中的大部分藍光,因此影響眼睛對此顏色的感知能力,這就是為什麼德國聯邦航空局等當局會建議飛行員不要使用這類鏡片的原因。然而對於仍重視色彩感的人而言,新型蔡司漸變色染色鏡片是非常安全的選擇,這種鏡片特別適合在飛機上使用。例如,鏡片上半區域可能為深褐色,下半區域則為較淡的色系,方便飛行員閱讀駕駛艙儀表板上的資訊。這類眼鏡鏡片能夠在達到最佳視力的前提下降低光線強度、具備中性色調及100%紫外線防護,符合政府當局和飛行員協會對鏡片的嚴格要求。

順道一提:飛行員應避免使用光致變色或自動變色太陽眼鏡,因為自動變色太陽眼鏡需要數秒鐘的調整時間才能就光線和紫外線條件變化而作出反應。

的漸進鏡片能確保安全舒適的視覺感官

總會有一天,絕大多數配戴眼鏡的飛行員都會面臨一個難題:眼睛看遠和看近,再也無法達到相同的清晰度。對飛行員而言,這不僅不方便,而且具有潛在的危險。採用蔡司EyeFit技術的漸進鏡片已通過實驗和測試證實,非常適合在飛機上使用。它們完全符合配戴者的使用需求——如同量身訂製的西服——能讓飛行員清楚看見遠距離物件(高塔和空中交通情況)以及近距離物件(如駕駛艙內的儀表顯示器或標誌)。再搭配Skylet®日光防護鏡片,就是飛行員的最佳眼鏡組合。

選擇鏡框需要注意什麼?

全面的覆蓋範圍十分重要,飛行員最適合使用全面覆蓋型眼鏡鏡框搭配弧面鏡片:這種鏡框會順著臉部輪廓,有效阻擋從側面或後方進入配戴者眼睛的分散光線。眼鏡腳要輕薄,不能超出頭部太遠,如此飛行員的頭戴式通話器才能運作無礙。基本上,飛行員適用的眼鏡鏡框必須適合長時間配戴,不能緊壓頭部。只要注意幾個原則,選擇一點也不困難。

順道一提:

許多飛行員會選擇堅硬的鍍膜處理來保護鏡片,例如:蔡司的DuraVision® Platinum,以防止刮花或因周圍環境而對鏡片造成破壞。更多資訊...

 

Image: i.stockphoto.com © Stacey Newman

相關文章

夏天—太陽眼鏡的季節
Perfect vision for all winter sports fans
漸進鏡片能符合狩獵者的需求嗎?
高爾夫球專用眼鏡
無論你喜歡高彎度、輕薄或色彩繽紛的款式:蔡司鏡片能滿足各種需求!
 

我们在这个网站上使用 Cookies。 Cookies 是网站在您的电脑上存储的小段文字文件。目前流行使用 Cookies,用于帮助最佳化显示网页和改善。通过使用我们的网页,您表示同意接受。

OK