Fast dark. Fast clear: Self-tinting lenses by ZEISS

Whether in the sun or indoors: 24 hours of excellent vision with PhotoFusion self-tinting lenses offered by ZEISS

Are you looking for a new, favourite pair of glasses? Ones that will give you excellent vision in any light day or night? With self-tinting lenses that will give you 100% protection from the sun and harmful solar UV rays and will do away with having to change back to your conventional glasses? As of now, ZEISS is also offering the latest generation of self-tinting lenses in the well-known ZEISS quality. And the best thing is that PhotoFusion high- and mid-index self-tinting lenses turn up to 2 times faster*  from dark to clear than previous photochromic lenses offered by ZEISS.

*Average performance for 1.67, 1.6 and polycarbonate lenses. Performance will vary according to material, temperature and light conditions.

Also known as photochromic lenses, self-tinting lenses have been around since the 1960's. The small, yet significant discovery made by chemist Stanley Donald Stookey and his colleague, William Armistead, made it possible to have spectacle lenses that react to UV rays remarkably well. Ever since then, a lot has happened in view of the quality and performance of self-tinting lenses and they are extremely popular amongst many people who are dependent on their glasses and constantly going indoors and outdoors.

What are the differences in quality amongst self-tinting lenses?

With self-tinting lenses, the annoying need to change glasses is a thing of the past. Latest market research by ZEISS show that spectacle wearers however have very clear criteria regarding the quality and performance of self-tinting lenses:

  • To be comfortable to use, self-tinting lenses must adjust very quickly to the changing light conditions.
  • To attain optimal vision, self-tinting lenses must become really dark in sunlight and completely clear indoors.
  • Self-tinting lenses must be effective and also offer 100% UV protection.
  • To look good, self-tinting lenses should be available in attractive, harmonious tints.
  • Self-tinting lenses should have a long life performance and high performance.

 

Glasses for all light conditions from ZEISS

These requirements were taken into account in the development of ZEISS PhotoFusion. In just 15 to 30 seconds, PhotoFusion high- and mid-index lenses will darken in bright light or in the sun*. Indoors, they clear again in about 5 to 10 minutes*. That is the reason why PhotoFusion is a leader among self-tinting lenses. And of course, it offers 100% protection against solar UV rays as a standard feature.

*Average performance for 1.67, 1.6 and polycarbonate lenses. Performance will vary according to material, temperature and light conditions.

A further milestone in 160 years of ZEISS expertise; as well as anti-reflective coating and customised progressive lenses, the original self-tinting plastic lenses were first launched by the Carl Zeiss Vision brand American Optical in 1983.

How do self-tinting lenses work?

A chemical reaction involving certain molecules is used as the basis for self-tinting lenses. The secret behind PhotoFusion high- and mid-index self-tinting lenses is photo-active molecules which react quickly to changing light. When there are changes in the exposure to light, the molecules in the lens change, darkening or clearing the lens.  By combining these molecules with ZEISS lenses, it has been possible to design a new generation of powerful self-tinting lenses.

Good for you! PhotoFusion is available across a wide range of designs, brands and materials.. This means that PhotoFusion spectacles wearers do not have to miss out on any offers or quality aspects for relaxed vision: more visual comfort, better quality of life.

PhotoFusion availabilty:

  • Super anti-reflective coating, LotuTec and Pure Coat coatings.
  • For single vision lenses, progressive lenses and computer lenses.
  • For all individual spectacle lens features from ZEISS and also for curved lenses such as ZEISS Single Vision Sport.

 

Questions and answers on Self-tinting Lenses with PhotoFusion

  • Do PhotoFusion lenses work in a car?

    Much of the UV radiation that activates self-tinting lenses is absorbed by car windshields. Fortunately, PhotoFusion lenses retain more of their self-tinting performance inside automobiles than the existing generation by ZEISS. Nevertheless, some wearers may prefer a dedicated pair of sunglasses for extended periods of driving.

  • Will PhotoFusion lenses replace sunglasses?

    For general-purpose use - either indoors, outdoors, day, or night - PhotoFusion lenses offer excellent overall visual performance and glare protection. Nevertheless, under intense sunlight in environments with high temperatures, inside cars with windscreens that block most ultraviolet radiation, or in environments with intense reflective glare from surfaces such as water and snow, a dedicated pair of prescription sunglasses with a fixed tint will offer the best form of glare protection and visual comfort.

  • Are PhotoFusion lenses suitable for all-day wear, inside or outside?

    Yes, PhotoFusion lenses are virtually clear in their faded state, making them perfectly suitable for indoor and night-time use. Furthermore, when exposed to sunlight, PhotoFusion lenses darken as needed to maintain sufficient glare control, darkening to near-sunglass tint in bright sunlight. In extremely sunny situations an extra pair of sunglasses may be useful.

  • Will PhotoFusion lenses work as well as my previous pair of self-tinting – or “photochromic” – eyeglasses?

    PhotoFusion high- and mid-index lenses rely on the latest advancements in self-tinting technology, offering very good performance. They darken up to 20% faster* and fade back up to 2 times faster* than previous photochromic lenses offered by ZEISS. Furthermore, PhotoFusion lenses will offer strong and long lasting performance.
    Results of a wearer test showed that 97% of wearers say PhotoFusion is better than or equal to their old “photochromic” lenses.

    *Average performance for 1.67, 1.6 and polycarbonate lenses. Performance will vary according to material, temperature and light conditions.


Share this article with your friends

We use cookies on this site. Cookies are small text files that are stored on your computer by websites. Cookies are widely used and help to optimize the pages that you view. By using this site, you agree to their use. more

瞬間由淺變深,瞬間由深變淺:蔡司變色鏡片

無論在陽光下還是在室內:ZEISS PhotoFusion變色鏡片提供24小時卓越的視覺

你正在尋找一副喜愛的新眼鏡嗎?尋找一副無論白天夜晚都給你卓越視覺的眼鏡嗎?一副具有100%太陽和有害陽光紫外線防護功能而你又無須換回傳統眼鏡的自動變色鏡片嗎?現在,蔡司也提供獨有蔡司品質的強力自動變色鏡片。而最出色的是,PhotoFusion的中至高折射率自動變色鏡片從深變淺的速度比以往蔡司提供的光致變色鏡片快上2倍*。

*折射率1.67、1.6和聚碳酸酯鏡片的平均性能。變色性能會根據材料、溫度和光線條件而改變。

自動變色鏡片,亦稱為光致變色鏡片,自1960年代已經出現於市場上。化學家Stanley Donald Stookey和他的同事William Armistead的一個重要的發現,使得能對紫外線產生反應的眼鏡鏡片變得有可能。自此,對於自動變色鏡片的質素和性能的看法出現了很多改變,而且對於許多常配戴眼鏡又經常進出室內外的人而言,自動變色鏡片變得極受歡迎。

自動變色鏡片之間有甚麼差別?

自動變色鏡片的出現,令經常需要轉換眼鏡的困擾成為過去。蔡司最近期的市場調查顯示,眼鏡配戴者對於自動變色鏡片的質素和性能有很明確的標準﹕

  • 能方便使用,自動變色鏡片必須對光線條件快速反應。
  • 達到理想視覺感受,自動變色鏡片必須在陽光下變得很深色而在室內則完全清澈。
  • 自動變色鏡片必須有效能且提供100%的紫外線防護。
  • 外型要美觀,自動變色鏡片應該有協調且吸引的色調可供選購。
  • 自動變色鏡片應備有持久耐用的變色性能。

能用於所有光線條件下的蔡司眼鏡

開發ZEISS PhotoFusion時,這些要求都已經考慮到了。只需15到30秒鐘,高中折射率的PhotoFusion鏡片能在光線充足下或在陽光下*變深色,而在室內則大約5至10分鐘*又會變清澈。這就是為什麼PhotoFusion在眾多自動變色鏡片之間領先的原因。當然,它也具備100%陽光紫外線防護的標準性能,
另外也可配備防反光鍍膜和客製化漸進鏡片。最早的自動變色鏡片於1983年由American Optical首次推出,而其眼科業務則由蔡司眼鏡光學公司所持有。

向光性/自動變色鏡片如何運作?

自動變色鏡片運作原理是一個牽涉到某些分子的化學反應。PhotoFusion高中折射率自動變色鏡片背後的秘密是能對瞬間變化的光線作出即時反應的光活性分子。當鏡片曝露在光線下時,鏡片上的光活性分子會隨著產生變化,使鏡片變深或變淺。將這些光活性分子與蔡司鏡片結合,就能設計出性能出眾的新一代自動變色鏡片。

「向光性」(Phototropic;phototrop直譯 =「朝向光明」)和「光致變色」(Photochromi;來自希臘文:phos = 光線,chroma = 顏色),這兩個詞通常用於自動


變色鏡片。這兩個詞指的是同一類型的鏡片。
對你有好處!PhotoFusion有廣泛的設計、品牌和材料可供選購。這意味著,PhotoFusion眼鏡配戴者不必再錯過任何獲得輕鬆視力的供貨建議或鏡片質素:更舒適的視力帶來更美好的生活質素。

PhotoFusion的供貨:

  • 超級防反光鍍膜、LotuTec和Pure Coat鍍膜。
  • 用於單光鏡片漸進鏡片和電腦鏡片
  • 用於所有具有蔡司特色的個人化眼鏡鏡片,和高彎度鏡片如

關於PhotoFusion自動變色鏡片的常見問題

  • 1. 在車廂內能使用PhotoFusion鏡片嗎?

    由於大部分能活化自動變色鏡片的紫外線已被汽車擋風玻璃所吸收,自動變色鏡片在車廂內不會變得很深色。雖然PhotoFusion於車廂內會提供一定程度上的眩光保護,但是有些配戴者長時間駕駛時會比較偏愛使用駕駛專用的太陽鏡。

  • 3. PhotoFusion鏡片將會取代太陽眼鏡嗎?

    無論室內或室外、白天或晚上配戴,在一般用途上,PhotoFusion鏡片都能提供卓越的整體視覺性能和眩光保護。不過,在陽光普照的高溫環境下,在擋風玻璃阻隔大部分紫外線照射的車廂內,或在有大量眩光反射的環境情況下如﹕水上和雪地上,特定色調的專用處方太陽眼鏡能提供最好的眩光保護和視覺舒適感。

  • 8. PhotoFusion鏡片適宜不分室內外全天候配戴嗎?

    是的,PhotoFusion鏡片沒有變色時幾乎完全清澈,因此完全適宜在室內和夜晚配戴。此外,當曝露在陽光下時,PhotoFusion鏡片會隨著所需變深色以保持足夠的眩光程度,在猛烈的陽光下更會變到接近太陽眼鏡那麼深的色調。在陽光普照的情況下,多準備一副太陽眼鏡可能很有用。
     

  • 9. 相較於清澈鏡片,PhotoFusion鏡片有甚麼益處?

    與清澈的鏡片不同,PhotoFusion 自動變色鏡片會隨著周遭環境的光照程度增加而變深色。它們在室內幾乎完全清澈,而在猛烈的陽光下更會變得像太陽眼鏡般的深色,從而提供眩光保護並增高視覺舒適度。

  • 10. PhotoFusion鏡片會和我以前那一副自動變色或「光致變色」眼鏡同樣好用嗎?

    高中折射率的PhotoFusion鏡片沿用最新最先進的自動變色技術,提供非常良好的性能。它們的顏色變深的速度比蔡司以往沿用的光致變色鏡片要快上20%*,而且變淺的速度更會快達2倍*。此外,PhotoFusion鏡片可以提供強力持久的變色性能。
    配戴者測試的結果顯示,97%的受訪者表示PhotoFusion的性能比較他們的舊「光致變色」鏡片更好或同樣好。

我们在这个网站上使用 Cookies。 Cookies 是网站在您的电脑上存储的小段文字文件。目前流行使用 Cookies,用于帮助最佳化显示网页和改善。通过使用我们的网页,您表示同意接受。
OK